BHP Names Outstanding Students for Class of 2011

The Business Honors Program is pleased to announce the 2011 winners of the BHP Outstanding Student and R. Conrad Doenges Awards. The 2011 Outstanding Students are Vikas Brahmbhatt, Eileen Choudhury, Blake Morgan, and Scott Parks. The R. Conrad Doenges Award Winner is Emily Benigno. Congratulations to you all!


Five BHP Students Elected to UBC Executive Board

Congratulations to the following BHP students who were elected to the 2011-2012 Undergraduate Business Council Executive Board: Michael Daehne – President; Yuezhi Zhan – Vice President; Leanna Swain – Administrative Director; Alex Hodges – Careers Director; and Eugene Chou – Technology Director. These students will help lead the 101-member Council, which hosts nearly fifty events each year and serves as the official representative voice for the nearly 4,400 McCombs undergraduate students. Best of luck!

BHP Student Appointed to UT Board of Regents

Gov. Rick Perry appointed BHP junior John Davis Rutkauskas to the Board of Regents as the 2011-12 student regent on Wednesday.

Rutkauskas, a business honors, finance, French and Plan II major, will serve from June 1, 2011 to May 31, 2012.

“The student regents act as a liaison between the students and the Board of Regents,” said Lucy Nashed, spokeswoman for the governor’s office. “They attend Board of Regents meetings but don’t vote. They act as the students’ voice.”

Students from all nine UT System universities and six medical branches are eligible to apply each December for the single student spot through the school or the governor’s appointments office.

“Our board always looks forward to meeting newer members and learning to work with a new student,” said System spokesman Matt Flores.

The governor appoints the student regent and each of the nine voting regents, and the board sets policies for system institutions, Flores said.

“It’s a pivotal time in the history of the University, dealing with the aftermath of the economic recession and budget cuts,” Rutkaukas said. “The position is not about approaching the board as an activist but as an intermediary presenting the student’s opinion, rather than demanding action.”

(Article taken from The Daily Texan)

BHP Students Win McCombs Leadership Awards

Congratulations to the following BHP students who were recognized at McCombs Honors Day 2011:

Emily Benigno — Barbara Jordan Business Leadership Award & BBA/MPA Rising Star Leadership Award winner

Michael Daehne — McCombs Student Leadership Award winner

Raahul Ramakrishnan — McCombs Student Leadership Award winner

Jeff Stevens — George Mitchell Leadership Award winner

Bekah Thayer — George Mitchell Leadership Award winner

Sameer Desai — George Mitchell Leadership Award winner

Shalin Dalal — George Mitchell Leadership Award winner

Congratulations to all BHP students who were recognized, and thank you for your contributions to our Program, to McCombs, and to the University!