The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) named the 110 recipients of the 2018 Elijah Watt Sells Award on Thursday, April 11, and the Texas McCombs MPA program has three winners:

  • Natalie Gilbert (BBA ’17, MPA ’18) who is currently employed with PwC in Houston, Texas
  • Laura “Elise” Jones (BBA ’17, MPA ’18) who is currently employed with KPMG in Dallas, Texas
  • Minjae Kim (BHP and BBA ’17, MPA ’18) who is currently employed with Analysis Group in Dallas, Texas

This award recognizes those who scored a cumulative average score above 95.50 across all four sections of the CPA exam, passed all four sections of the exam on their first attempt, and completed their testing in 2018. Over 86,000 individuals sat for the CPA exam in 2018.

78% of Texas McCombs students who took the CPA exam in 2018 passed all four sections; this compares to a 52% pass rate among all over Texas colleges and universities.

Congratulations to Natalie, Elise, and Minjae, as well as the other 107 winners — it’s an tremendous accomplishment to receive this award!

See a list of all the winners here.

The Elijah Watt Sells Award was established in 1923 to honor one of the country’s first CPAs, Elijah Watt Sells. He was a founding partner of Haskins & Sells (a predecessor to Deloitte) and one of the first practicing CPAs in New York. He also served on the AICPA governing council and helped turn the AICPA into what it is today.

Elijah Watt Sells Award