Last week I wrote about granting Reviewer permissions to your Outlook calendar with other people on your Microsoft Exchange Server. But Reviewer permissions only allow someone to view your appointments, not change them. Sometimes you may want someone to be able to add or edit appointments on your calendar, or sometimes you may want them to only see your free/busy time, and not the details of your appointments. Either way, you’ll need to go in and edit the person’s sharing permissions.

Edit Sharing Permissions (Outlook 2003, 2007, and 2010)

  1. Click on the Calendar button to go to Calendar view.
  2. In the left hand column, right click on the calendar you want to share and select Properties.
  3. In the window that opens, click on the Permissions tab.
  4. In the Name column, click on the name of the person you want to change the permissions for. Their current permission level is indicated in the column beside their name.
  5. In the Permissions section, click on the Permission Level drop down arrow.
  6. Select a permission level (descriptions below). You can customize the permissions in the Read, Write, Delete items, and Other sections below.
  7. When you’re finished adjusting the permissions, click OK.

You may notice the Add button below the list of names. You can also add a person to grant permissions to using this button.

Default Permissions

Notice that one of the names in the Name column is Default. This is the permission level everyone on your Exchange Server has. Unless you want to share your calendar with EVERYONE in your organization, I suggest leaving the default permissions at Free/Busy time. This will allow people to see when you’re busy when they send you a meeting request. If you don’t want people in your organization to see your Free/Busy time, change the Default permission to None by selecting it in the Read section.

Permission Levels

If you’re not sure what each permission level means, you can select one from the Permission Level drop down box and see what options are selected below. I’ve summarized the permission levels below.

  • None- the person cannot see any information related to your calendar.
  • Free/Busy time – the person can see when you’re free or busy
  • Free/Busy time, subject, location - the person can see the time, subject, and location of your appointments
  • Contributor - the person can put appointments on your calendar but cannot see details of existing appointments
  • Reviewer - the person can read everything related to an appointment (except a private one) and see folders, but not subfolders
  • Nonediting Author - the person can see appointment details, create appointments (but not folders), and delete the appointments they created
  • Author - the person can see appointment details, create appointments, edit appointments they created, and delete appointments they created
  • Publishing Author - the person can do everything an Author can, plus create subfolders
  • Editor - the person can create items, edit all appointments, delete any appointment, and see the full details of all appointments
  • Publishing Editor - the person can do everything an Editor can, plus create subfolders
  • Owner - the person will have the same permissions to your calendar that you have