The University of Texas System Board of Regents named seven University of Texas at Austin faculty members as recipients of the 2017 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award (ROTA). The awards are the Board of Regents’ highest honor and recognize faculty members who have demonstrated extraordinary classroom performance and innovation in undergraduate instruction.

We are extremely proud the Regents chose Department of Accounting Senior Lecturer Gretchen Charrier as one of the 2017 UT Austin ROTA recipients. Gretchen has received numerous teaching awards including the Senate of College Council’s Professor of the Year (2016), the James W. Deitrick Outstanding Accounting Faculty Award (2015), Senate of College Council’s Professor of the Semester (2015), McCombs Faculty Honor Roll (Spring 2015, Fall 2014, Spring and Fall 2012, Spring and Fall 2011, Fall 2009, Spring and Fall 2008, Fall 2007), the Hank and Mary Harkins Award for Effective Teaching (2013-2014 and 2000-2001), the Texas Blazers Faculty Award (2012, 2003), the Texas Excellence Teaching Award – Texas Exes (2001), Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award, Undergraduate Business Council (2000), Best Professor Award – Alpha Kappa Psi, Professional Business Fraternity (2000). She has served as the MPA internship coordinator since joining McCombs in 1997, a faculty fellow in the Division of Housing and Food Services, a faculty mentor in the Bridging Disciplines Program, a faculty contact in the Career Exploration Center, and a Plan II faculty mentor. Gretchen has served on the Department of Accounting Unrestricted Endowed Presidential Scholarship Nomination Committee since 1997, the McCombs School of Business Internship Advisory Council and the Dean’s Faculty Advisory Committee.

For the 2017 ROTA, faculty members underwent a series of rigorous evaluations by students, peer faculty members, and external reviewers. The review panels considered a range of activities and criteria in their evaluations of a candidate’s teaching performance including classroom expertise, curricula quality, innovative course development and student learning outcomes.